The National Association of Elementary School Principals has developed a program to recognize the important role of elementary school principals. In Arkansas the program is administered by the Arkansas Association of Elementary School Principals (AAESP). The program recognizes an outstanding principal in each state who has truly made a difference and brought about positive change in his/her school.


2020 Justin Swope
2019 Shelly Poage
2018 Stephanie Worthey
2017 Dr. Annette Freeman 
2016 Sara Weaver
2015 Melissa Fink
2014 Dondi Frisinger
2013 Cindy Covington
2012 Peggy Walter
2011 Dr. Regina Stewman
2010 Kay York
2009 Maribel Childress
2008 Sherrie Bayles
2007 Debbie Davis
2006 Jim Warnock
2005 Marilyn Johnson
2004 Jerry Vaughn
2003 Howard Austin
2002 Belinda Akin
2001 Truett McCurry
2000 Dr. Bert Stark
1999 Sandy Hughey
1998 Don Johnson
1997 Jim Lewis
1996 Ila Newberry
1995 Mary Wells
1994 Linda Childers
1993 Cecil H. Boothe
1992 Larry A. Fuller
1991 James Simmons
1990 Mike Mumma
1989 Wanda L. O’Quinn
1988 Ralph J. William
1987 Oma L. Blackwell
1986 June R. Smith
1985 Edwin S. Jackson
1984 Donald S. Arick