Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
2018 Aspiring Principals Workshop
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
 

2/2/2018
When: 02/02/2018
8:00 AM
Where: 4 Regional Locations
United States
Contact: Dr. Larry Smith
501-372-1691


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

 

2018 Aspiring Principals Workshop

Arkansas Association of Elementary School Principals

 

The Arkansas Association of Elementary School Principals (AAESP) is sponsoring the “Aspiring Principals Workshop” at four separate regional locations around the state:

 

February 2, 2018

CENTRAL ARKANSAS

Conway School District- Conway Public Schools Annex

1902 Hairston

Conway, AR 72034

Contact: Sherri Jennings         sherri.jennings@cps.k12.ar.us            501-743-3566

Contact: Stacey DeFoor          defoorst@conwayschools.info            501-450-4820

Lunch: On Your Own

 

February 9, 2018

SOUTH CENTRAL ARKANSAS

South Central Educational Service Cooperative

2235 California Avenue

Camden, AR 71701

Contact: Amy Sanchez            asanchez@cfsd.k12.ar.us                    870-836-6876

Lunch: On Your Own

 

February 15, 2018

WESTERN ARKANSAS

Guy Fenter Educational Service Cooperative

3010 East Hwy 22, Suite A

Branch, AR 72928

Contact: Lori Griffin                lgriffin@fortsmithschools.org                479-783-1280

Contact: Carl Hill                    chill@fortsmithschools.org                   479-452-0211

Lunch: On Your Own

 

February 16, 2018

NORTHEAST ARKANSAS

Crowley's Ridge Educational Service Cooperative

1606 Pine Grove Lane

Harrisburg, AR 72432

Contact: Pharis Smith              psmith@bulldogs.k12.ar.us                 870-349-2312

Contact: Joey Carr                   jcarr@armorel.k12.ar.us                      870-763-5600

Lunch: On Your Own

 

The Aspiring Principals Workshop is designed to provide an overview of the principalship to those individuals who are considering a career in Pre K-12 school administration. Registration begins at 8:00 a.m. at each location with the workshop beginning at 8:30 a.m. The day’s activities will conclude at 3:00 p.m.

 

Being mindful of the high number of retirements among the ranks of school principals the state during the next five to ten years, the AAEA/AAESP Board of Directors offers this opportunity to encourage quality educators to enter the principalship. The content of the day will be based on information from the National Association of Elementary School Principals “Previewing the 21st Century Principalship” program. One special component of the program will be a panel discussion featuring national distinguished principals from elementary, middle, and high school and other key state leaders.

 

Professional development credit will be given. Registration fee for the workshop is $50.00 and includes all workshop materials and refreshments. Onsite registration will be $60.00. Please be sure to print out your invoice and give it to the business department. We WILL NOT bill the district.

 

Cancellations must be submitted no later than 5 business days before the day of the workshop to Marty Smith – m.smith@theaaea.org. Requests for refunds received after the workshop will not be honored.

 

Should you need additional information about the workshop, please contact Dr. Larry Smith, AAEA Program Director at l.smith@theaaea.org or 501-372-1691. You may also contact the individuals hosting each Aspiring Principal Workshop location listed above.

 

Thank you for your assistance in developing the next generation of school principals.

 

ASPIRING PRINCIPALS WORKSHOP

AGENDA

 

8:00-8:30         Registration and Informal Greeting

8:30-9:05         Welcome, Overview, and Norms

9:05-10:05       A Principal’s Story video

10:05-10:20     Break

10:20-10:50     Debrief of A Principal’s Story- Using NAESP’s Six Standards of School Leadership

10:50-10:55     How Ready Are You for the 21st Century Principalship?

10:55-11:50     “A Day in the Life”

                                    To-Do List

                                    In Basket

                                    Reprioritizing

                                    Two Scenarios

                                    Reflection of Standards and Learning

11:50-12:00     Questions?

12:00-1:30       Lunch Break (On Your Own)

1:30-2:25         Panel Discussion

2:25-2:40         Expert Advice

2:40-2:50         Reflection and Final Action Planning

2:50-3:00         Workshop Closure and Evaluation

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal